travel

Tulum (take me back!)

I crave spontaneity and always have, but lately I’ve really had an itch to get away. Go somewhere and unwind. The thing about spontaneity for me is that it usually ends in avoiding online banking and the up-coming cell phone bill.

Regardless, it (usually)  turns out being a lesson learned or something that recharges my soul- or both. That’s why I love travel and once I get another hit, I just want more.

My seemingly more spontaneous sister (being 21 and all) was a fun companion. We share some of the same humor, and I love a good giggle. We had five days to suck the marrow out of and while it was sometimes a stretch because two girls who have grown up in San Diego STILL don’t know how to speak Spanish (!) we attempted at conversation, ate the best lobster I’ve ever had, and walked through the most awe-provoking ruins. We met locals who took us snorkeling with sea turtles, sipped some tequila (and chased it with water straight from the coconut!) and learned how to salsa on the beach. We got eaten alive by bugs on jungle walks (because us gringa’s weren’t smart enough to pack bug spray) and swam in bat-infested cenotes. I wish I had taken more pictures, but it’s also challenging when you only have 4.5 days to unplug and unwind. Phone down, camera down mind OPEN. Take it all in.

dscn6141

dscn6183

dscn6153

dscn6147

dscn6159

dscn6154

dscn6144

dscn6152

dscn6148

dscn6157

dscn6162

dscn6182

dscn6179

dscn6176

dscn6175

dscn6169

dscn6165

dscn6174

dscn6178

dscn6164

dscn6163

dscn6171

dscn6187

Tulum, you have my heart and I will be back to find it in the Caribbean sea where at night the moon shines frosty and frozen in the sky, above shades of turquoise and sapphire.

Leave a Reply

