Blogging

Welcoming a New Year!

dscn6315

dscn6316

dscn6317

dscn6329

dscn6320

dscn6328

dscn6327

What are you plans for the New Year?
Are they to be better organized, to lose weight, to create healthy boundaries?

I’m feeling a little more ‘grown up’ as this year closes, and another one begins. Perhaps its because I’m a little more independent now, maybe because I’ve been a mom for nearly five years and I’ve changed so much over this time. Or, maybe it’s because I’m nearly 30 and nature is taking its course and I am finally understanding who I am and where I am meant to be.

I have a couple of big things that I want to accomplish this year. One that I’ve been working on for a while now is completing my AA degree. This coming semester I will only need to complete one science class and one math, and then I should (FINALLY) hold my Associate’s degree in Liberal Arts! For me, deciding on a career path has been one of the hardest things I feel a person can decide on. How do you decide when you can be anything you want?! I’ve realized that you have to just make a decision. Jump into something that you feel you’d be good at, or that at least you feel would inspire you. So , I’ve finally made my decision to begin training as a Doula! A Doula is (usually a woman) who assists another women in birth. The word is of Greek origin meaning “women’s servant.” Since having my own children, I learned exactly what I did and did not want after my experiences. Unfortunately, both of my birthing events went different than I had anticipated. I realized just how important it is to have someone by your side for support and comfort through one of the most difficult yet marvelous events of your life as a woman! And since I’ve accompanied many live births throughout my lifetime already, I know that I am comfortable and capable. The training requires a three-day workshop, as well as required reading materials. After I’ve completed the training, I will need to complete 27 hours in the labor room assisting another seasoned Doula. I am really excited about this career choice. I am not sure how exactly it will work out since I have young children and labor can happen anytime day or night and last (sometimes) days- I guess those are logistics I will work out! I begin training in February, and I am really looking forward to it.

Goodbye 2016… Hello New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

